·         Bugando Medical Center and MOI, Tanzania/East Africa

This one- or two-year fellowship position, based in East Africa, entails evaluating patients, performing surgery, and training Tanzanian surgeons and medical staff, as well as ongoing research together with FIENS and Weill Cornell Medicine Neurosurgery. Ongoing communication with Weill Cornell Medicine Neurosurgery and FIENS is made possible through weekly Skype conferences and annual site visits by U.S. faculty. 

The position is open to fully trained neurosurgeons and is under the direction of Dr. Roger Härtl, Professor of Neurosurgery and chief of spine surgery and neurotrauma at Weill Cornell Medicine, and founder of the Neurosurgical Mission in Tanzania. (Find out more about our work in Tanzania.)

This position is endorsed by FIENS.

Roger Härtl, MD
Professor of Neurological Surgery and Director of Spinal Surgery, Weill Cornell Brain & Spine Center
Director, Center for Comprehensive Spine Care


Bassett Foundation.

Clack Foundation, Inc.

Am. Assoc. of Neurological Surgeons

La. Neurosurgical Society


Dempsey, Robert J.

Kelly, Daniel F.

Kelly, Daniel F.

Hayden-Gephart, Melanie (Tarascon)

Culicchia, Frank

Van Brocklin, Linda (Mrs.)

Bernstein, Mark

deLuna, Carlo

Gauger, Grant E.

Haglund, Michael M.

Johnston,  James M.

Kim, Miriam

Rock, Jack P.

Sandberg, David I.


King, Jr., Joseph T.

Cleveland Foundation (The)

Gump, William C.

Kaur, Ravneet

Lacin, Robert

Ojemann, Jeffrey, G.

Sawaya, Raymond

Stern, Joseph

Tatsumi, Tetsuo


Pitkethly, David T.

Andrews, Russell J.

Guerrero, Cesar

Guerrrero, Cesar

Hodes, Dr. and Mrs. Jonathan

Sandberg, Michelle (Ms.)

Fundación NED

Peffer, William (Mr.)

Agarwal, Akash

Bagan, Merwyn

Clayton, Daniel

Crawford, Jr., Asa H.

Davis, Matthew

Edem, Idara

Frank, Donald

Freidberg, Stephen R.

Fundación NED

Ganaha, Sara

Glasauer, Franz E.

Kunz, Alexandra C.

Laws, Edward R.

Medlink Corporation

Panson, Richard

Payne, Nettleton

Rifai, Neuro S.

Sandberg, Joel S.

Sheffel, Donald

Smith, Jr., Kenneth R.

Smith, Kenneth R. (Mr.)

Stoll, Amos

Tomasi, S. Ottavio

Valadka, Alex

Weinstein, Philip R.

Yorke, Jr., Craig H.

Yu, Young

Yu, Young

Hirschfeld, Alan