FIENS Chairman’s Message and thank you note

The past year has been an exciting time for those of us dedicated to providing training and necessary neurosurgical services in the developing world.  The Lancet Commission and World Health Organization have declared lack of essential surgeries an essential need, the resolution of which could save hundreds of millions of lives.  We have worked to bring preliminary training to three continents, helped to organize training standards across the continent of Africa, and continue to support developing programs at many sites.  The impact of training doctors to develop a self-sustaining heath system is incalculable.  With your help, we are literally teaching entire nations to grow and sustain their specialty healthcare.  We continue to very much appreciate your past assistance and ask for your continued support.  There are so many ways to help – we thank you for all of them. 


Robert J. Dempsey, MD, FACS

Chairman, Foundation for International Education in Neurological Surgery


Bassett Foundation.

Clack Foundation, Inc.

Am. Assoc. of Neurological Surgeons

La. Neurosurgical Society


Dempsey, Robert J.

Kelly, Daniel F.

Kelly, Daniel F.

Hayden-Gephart, Melanie (Tarascon)

Culicchia, Frank

Van Brocklin, Linda (Mrs.)

Bernstein, Mark

deLuna, Carlo

Gauger, Grant E.

Haglund, Michael M.

Johnston,  James M.

Kim, Miriam

Rock, Jack P.

Sandberg, David I.


King, Jr., Joseph T.

Cleveland Foundation (The)

Gump, William C.

Kaur, Ravneet

Lacin, Robert

Ojemann, Jeffrey, G.

Sawaya, Raymond

Stern, Joseph

Tatsumi, Tetsuo


Pitkethly, David T.

Andrews, Russell J.

Guerrero, Cesar

Guerrrero, Cesar

Hodes, Dr. and Mrs. Jonathan

Sandberg, Michelle (Ms.)

Fundación NED

Peffer, William (Mr.)

Agarwal, Akash

Bagan, Merwyn

Clayton, Daniel

Crawford, Jr., Asa H.

Davis, Matthew

Edem, Idara

Frank, Donald

Freidberg, Stephen R.

Fundación NED

Ganaha, Sara

Glasauer, Franz E.

Kunz, Alexandra C.

Laws, Edward R.

Medlink Corporation

Panson, Richard

Payne, Nettleton

Rifai, Neuro S.

Sandberg, Joel S.

Sheffel, Donald

Smith, Jr., Kenneth R.

Smith, Kenneth R. (Mr.)

Stoll, Amos

Tomasi, S. Ottavio

Valadka, Alex

Weinstein, Philip R.

Yorke, Jr., Craig H.

Yu, Young

Yu, Young

Hirschfeld, Alan