Only neurosurgeons or neurosurgery residents can serve as volunteers.

For those volunteers who spend a minimum or four weeks in the host country, FIENS will provide round trip economy airfare. Additional discretionary funds are sometimes availalbe for educational activities.

The receiving institution usually provides basic accommodation and local transportation. If special accommodation is required, this should be clarified prior to travel.

If interested, please apply by filling out the Volunteer Application which is provided here in PDF format. The form can be filled out in Adobe Acrobat or printed and filled out by hand. It should be submitted to FIENS via mail or FAX.

The FIENS Volunteer Toolkit is a resource for all FIENS volunteers, you can find it here.

For additional information on specific FIENS sites, go to the  Project Locations  page  or contact a regional coordinator:

Africa:   Michael Haglund

Americas:   Peter Nakaji or Ravneet Kaur

Asia:   Jack Rock

For questions or more information on volunteering, contact Beth Baltes

Mailing Address:

Beth Baltes

Volunteer Coordinator

Duke Global Neurosurgery and Neurology

310 Trent Drive, Rm 301 Trent Hall

Durham, NC 27708





Bassett Foundation.

Clack Foundation, Inc.

Am. Assoc. of Neurological Surgeons

La. Neurosurgical Society


Dempsey, Robert J.

Kelly, Daniel F.

Kelly, Daniel F.

Hayden-Gephart, Melanie (Tarascon)

Culicchia, Frank

Van Brocklin, Linda (Mrs.)

Bernstein, Mark

deLuna, Carlo

Gauger, Grant E.

Haglund, Michael M.

Johnston,  James M.

Kim, Miriam

Rock, Jack P.

Sandberg, David I.


King, Jr., Joseph T.

Cleveland Foundation (The)

Gump, William C.

Kaur, Ravneet

Lacin, Robert

Ojemann, Jeffrey, G.

Sawaya, Raymond

Stern, Joseph

Tatsumi, Tetsuo


Pitkethly, David T.

Andrews, Russell J.

Guerrero, Cesar

Guerrrero, Cesar

Hodes, Dr. and Mrs. Jonathan

Sandberg, Michelle (Ms.)

Fundación NED

Peffer, William (Mr.)

Agarwal, Akash

Bagan, Merwyn

Clayton, Daniel

Crawford, Jr., Asa H.

Davis, Matthew

Edem, Idara

Frank, Donald

Freidberg, Stephen R.

Fundación NED

Ganaha, Sara

Glasauer, Franz E.

Kunz, Alexandra C.

Laws, Edward R.

Medlink Corporation

Panson, Richard

Payne, Nettleton

Rifai, Neuro S.

Sandberg, Joel S.

Sheffel, Donald

Smith, Jr., Kenneth R.

Smith, Kenneth R. (Mr.)

Stoll, Amos

Tomasi, S. Ottavio

Valadka, Alex

Weinstein, Philip R.

Yorke, Jr., Craig H.

Yu, Young

Yu, Young

Hirschfeld, Alan